Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Here's your Valentines replay

Livestreamed for Peace Love and Understanding on Feb 14th

Happy Sundays!
I suppose the way to use the posts in this “sounds” section really, is just to play and listen to the video. No need to be staring at a screen for that, unless you want to.

There’s an auto generated transcript below, which will be flawed, but it may be useful to find something, or to make up the actual setlist, just for the record.

Transcript

“Fantastic and I'll watch it on that one there Playing my old faithful guitar tonight We've been together now for 50 years

1. Time for the music

I've finished working with words for today It's not that I've nothing left to say No feelings to share from my heart It's just that it's time for the music to start I'm not standing by anymore Patiently waiting outside the door For somebody to let me in

Oh it's time for the music to begin And it's time for the music Time for the music It's time, time Yes it's time For the music to start

From anticipating the moment is here The auditorium soundcheck is clear This is no rehearsal, it's the real thing And it's time, let the music begin And it's time for the music

It's time, time, yes it's time for the music to start

I said from anticipating the moment is here The auditorium soundcheck is clear There's no rehearsal, it's the real thing It's time, let the music begin

It's time, time, yes it's time for the music to start

Yeah, it's time.

Happy Valentines Day everybody.

The theme tonight is it's not just for couples.

It's for peace, love and understanding.

This is an old song of mine called Waiting.

Waiting

I see that you're moving And I know how it feels And I hope you can keep it going I know it's for real But if you find…

I'm waiting, I'm waiting I said I'm waiting for you I said I'm waiting here for you I'm waiting, I'm waiting I said I'm waiting for you I said I'm waiting here for you

I don't mind how long it takes you To follow your fate

I can just sit here for a while Just got to wait But when you find that you're just sitting low And if your mind stops

Thinking of home Thinking of home Well you know I'm waiting, I'm waiting Said I'm waiting here for you

Thank you very much.

The fan is on my computer. Can't do much about that.
Yeah, I can see reactions in the little phone thing on there, so that's good.

That's like being live.

I am live.

We are live.

There's a song called War Is Over.

It's on Puddles, I think.

Maybe Century.

But it's on the Andy Roberts tapes.

Which are tapes.

Shut up and play the guitar.

The War is Over

You're coming home girl The war is over It's time to rearrange The fragments that survived

I feel it can be Won't be very long Heard the birds are nesting Upon the cliffs again And the debris on the beaches Is getting washed away So come on home girl War is over

Living starts again today You've been gone Stuck between the reasons Fighting for whichever side Is looking down Falling out Falling down Or maybe just falling

Falling for slogans Sympathetic eyes I've seen the lights are shining All over the town again With the children outside laughing Just like they've never been away So come on home girl The war is over

Lovin' starts again today You've been gone Lost between reasons Fighting for whichever side is looking down Falling out Falling or maybe just falling

For strangers Sympathetic eyes Seeing the lights are shining All over the town again The kids are outside laughing Just like they've never been away So come on home We'd love to see you Loving starts again today

And this is one of two songs that are pertinent to

This one's really about snow.

I think we may be alright.

It's on the philosophical level.

Wight Valentine

The schools are all out And the middle road's closed The shops are all shutting up early If you really need to travel The advice is don't go We've just had a little bit of snow Well the bus is diverted Still running a little bit The ferry's tied up on the quay

Postie the health visitor they'll struggle through We've just had a little bit of snow I'm dreaming of a white valentine Of downloaded plans to build an igloo With a nice block table and a crystalline window We'll look out on our little bit of snow

And we'll fetch out the sledge from the back of your shed Last seen about five years ago And put on your earmuffs, your crampons, your axe We've just had a little bit of snow And we're fetching out all of our favourite phrases Like whiteout and blizzard defreeze

Snowpocalypse Ice Stormageddon It's just a little bit of snow I'm dreaming of a white valentine Downwarded plans to build an igloo With an ice block table and a crystalline window We'll look out on our little patch of snow

And I've just seen a car go by the first for some time With a little patch cleared in the windscreen And I don't think that's legal but anything goes When you've just had a little bit of snow I'm dreaming of a white valentine

Thank you This next song is included

Because it came out at a time when the particular country mentioned in the title of the song was going through a terrible time.

But the song is about the... Ignore all that and it's about the beaches and holidays.

Let's take you to...

The Southern Hemisphere by Bob Dylan and Jacques Levy

Mozambique

That one.

Great old song.

I've been playing it like that ever since I learnt it off

Colin Messenger as the guy who's mentioned in the Mazzet song because he was king king of the buskers what are we doing here yeah

Okay, Linda's keeping Harriet clued up.

Has it been shared into the event so that the people who were notified in the event have seen it, that's all.

Right, Terry and Julie.

You can tell it’s February, can't you?

Waterloo Sunset

Cynhyrchu Cynhyrchu

Cynhyrchu Cynhyrchu Cynhyrchu

After doing Angel, Linda said I should include this one because it's about travelling alone and there's always somebody with you.

So not just for couples.

Angel

One night I stayed up drinking

Biscayne

We're going to work in the fish market Smile while removing the scales With strong arms, wild hair and crazy eyes You told them I was from Wales On the way back we stopped at your ex-wife's house It's a beautiful sight with a view And the furniture you brought from Thailand I told you I was divorced too Down the coast from Bakio

Just north of Bilbao Day out from Guernica I'm near the end of it now And I'll be back some day Away from the grey Straight off the plane To the harbour This day This day

There's a causeway across to the island And a zigzag path up the hill Where the monastery's just a ruin Nobody lives there still And the wind is always howling And crashing waves never stop When you hear that single bell tolling It means somebody reached Somebody reached, somebody reached the top

Down the coast from Bakio Just north of Bilbao Day out from Guernica I'm nearly in a bit now And I'll be back some day Away from the grey Straight off the plane To the harbour Biscay

Sadly it's time to depart This country that's made me welcome And put something back into my heart I shall return Maybe in one year or three Cause even while travelling solo There's somebody there, somebody there, somebody there with me

Sitting on top of The World

I'm sitting on top of the world Playing the tune on my pipe For the sheep down below Sitting on top of the world Feeling the wind in my face

I could stay here all day I found the right place On top of the world Sitting on top of the world 905 metres above the sea Where the sheep all wear bells And the lizards run free

On top of the world I'm sitting on top of the world And I've eaten my rations on high Mussels and peppers and real Spanish cider On top of the world On top of

On the way up I had doubts Wondering how to get where I am now From coping with fear to living without On top of the world On top of the world 905 metres above the sea

Where the sheep all wear bells And the lizards run free Sitting on top of the world And if today is a feast Tomorrow could be fast When things are this good You know they can't last But right now

That was another Biscay song but on the French side of the nation-state border between two halves of the Basque country or Pays Basque

This song's global

It's for all the Saint Martins in the world From the Isles of Scilly To the Bay of Bengal And the Caribbean, Canadian Lakes

Yellow Boat

If I had a yellow boat I'd sail it to St Martins Moor it off that white sand bay Bobbing on the turquoise sea That's a nice sort, isn't it?

If I had a yellow boat I'd sail it round the islands

If I had a yellow boat, I'd sail it to St Martins I'd board up that white sand bay, bobbing on the turquoise sea

I woke up on a yellow boat early in the misty morning Catch a fish and fry it there bobbing on the turquoise sea If I had a yellow boat I'd sail it to St.

Martins Hoard off that white sand bay bobbing on the turquoise sea

On a turquoise sea, on a turquoise sea

I'll pour a little bit of water into my coffee to keep it going.

Soon, soon, soon.

This is one that I do if somebody says, can you just do a short one?

It's less than three minutes.

The Nutmeg Tree

When you told me you were the king of Spain's daughter I tell you it came as a shock

I thought of all the modest presents I'd bought you Must have been hard not to mark For I am a humble landless peasant, poor as pork me Who dared to hope that the King of Spain's daughter might deign to marry me

Oh, but when I get my land with goats and a cow There'll be milk every day for your tea. With some left over to sell in the market or exchange for nutmeg tree

And I'll care for that tree in pots and in tubs And treat it with sunshine and rain When it's grown tall and laden with fruit I'll be entitled to ask you again When you told me you were the king of Spain's daughter I'll tell you it came as a shock

Thankyou

Cynhyrchu Cynhyrchu Cynhyrchu

Cynrychioli Cynrychioli

Je Suis un Chanter dans la Rue

Thank you Thank you very much I am a singer in the street I sing for you Thank you very much I am a singer in the street Thank you very much I am a singer in the street

Napoléon, il est mort, tant pis, pis Napoléon, il est mort, mais josephine, elle est finie

I am a singer in the street I sing for you I am a singer in the street Thank you very much Napoleon, he is dead

San Francisco

All across the nation

There's a new vibration People in motion People in motion There's a new generation With a new explanation People in motion

Some crazy people were there All across the nation There's a new vibration People in motion People in motion There's a new generation With a new explanation

Just a Cup of Coffee

The winds of time are blowing dust across the sea Rain falls in the forest, rising up the tallest tree The pieces fit together, making pictures in the sand This broken ended story just needs a linking hand

The pieces fit themselves till the images are clear Places we have been were never far but not quite near And the journeys that we've taken return to the same places Till that Sunday in the square With a smile upon our faces

The moment has a meaning Some will shout out loud You'd think there would be music Reaction from the crowd But it was just a cup of coffee And a seat out in the sun You'd feel it in your feet When you'd been out on the road

I knew it had to happen Once the contact had been made It's not enough to signal Through the distance and the shade

Each chapter needs an ending With a taste of more to come Each travel destination books A ticket further on Outside the railway station There's a crossroads and a square I waited fifty minutes

I knew you would be there It felt completely normal Like I knew it would Back on the leafy pavements Where the rest is understood

The moment has a meaning Some will shout out loud You'd think there would be music Reaction from the crowd But it was just a cup of coffee And a seat out in the sun You'd feel it in your feet When you'd been out on the run Now it changes everything

What started has begun With just a cup of coffee And a seat out in the sun

Just a cup of coffee.

And time's getting on I think but I want to do something else.

I’m a Believer

Roedd Neil Diamond wedi ysgrifennu'r un hwn.

Ac mae hynny'n bennaf i'r guitar 12 strych, rwy'n meddwl.

O, nid.

Roeddwn i wedi gwneud yr un hwn, yr un sy'n sôn am Valentines Day, er bod hi'n sôn o ffwrdd.

Nid, nid.

Roedd hi'n llwyr.

Mae'n cael ei alw gan Ladd a Wainwright III.

Absence makes the heart grow fonder

When I see you again I expect champagne wine And on Valentines Day expect a valentine

Everywhere You Go

From the Great Wall of China, I was a day tripper Then a sailor on the Yangtze Gorges, From the Great Barrier Reef ….

Now he's been back a few months He's itching to set off again all roads also lead away from Rome

Girl from the Netherlands sounds just like she's from

But I've always had a notion To get back beside the ocean So might as well be for a long time lasting Away Away Away Everywhere you go

Everywhere you go now You're taking your own little world out with you Everywhere you go And everyone you know Finding out it's all the same Everywhere you go Everywhere you go now Finding out it's all the same

And that's it for that guitar Hoping to take that one to the Ventnor Fringe with me this year to do my Boulevard Days one man show Had a lot of fun starting to plan that recently

So this is a song called The Rowan Tree It's the titular track of the Rowan Tree album of course People know it as the witches song But it's also a love song

The Rowan Tree

Oh come hear my story It's a tale of four witches And I could have added three more

A you'll heed my advice if you're troubled with witches You'll plant a rowan tree outside your front door

Well the witch of the west was cunning and sly Always had me on the run And I never knew which way her nose was pointing Not until after she'd been there and gone And the branch tips dance with the faintest of breezes Berries there red, bright and fair I've not had much trouble from

Not since I planted my own tree there

The Witch of East was just counting the years But somehow the three became five Then the time was up and she's vanished away Now nobody knows if she's dead or alive The branch tips dance with the faintest of breezes Berries their red, bright and fair

I've not had much trouble from the Witch of the East Not since I planted my Rowan tree

The Witch of the South was trouble from the start The game was playing with fire And the anger rose as the coals glowed white And the smoke billowed higher and higher And the branch tips danced with the faintest of breezes Berries there, red, bright and fair

I've not had much trouble from the witch of the south Not since I planted my rowan tree there

Well the witch of the north is not like the rest She uses her powers for good And the rowan tree watches and nods in approval Keeping her safe from the dark witchy woods

Branch tip stands with the faintest of breezes Berries air, red, bright and fair I've none had much trouble from those two witchy witches Not since I planted my own tree there Now you've heard my story, it was a tale of four witches

All the branch tips dance with the faintest of breezes Berries they're red, bright and fair And you'll not have much trouble with those witchy witches Not once you've planted your own tree

I don't know what time it is, but it's nearly dinner time.

Mandolin Wind

I don't have much What I've got is yours Except of course for my steel guitar Cos I know you don't play But I'll teach you some day

Thank you, that was the mandolin wind from Rod Stewart.

I'm going to have to miss out a few.

And I'm going to leave you with Roll On The Day which has got this funny capo position.

Mae'r cerdd i mi ei ysgrifennu ar gyfer 2023.

Mae'n cael neges gadarnhaol, sy'n yr hyn rydyn ni'n ei angen.

Yn ystod pob un o'r crisi hyn, mae yna pum ffordd gwahanol.

I don't think we've ever been there before.

So roll on for a better day.

Roll On The Day

In this shadow year of after We are still standing tall but frail Hearts full of hope and trepidation Setting out along this unknown trail

All along this unknown trail Though the sky is dark and brooding And the ground beneath us has been shaken Our ever-seeking souls

The fortitude's unbreakable Love is unspoken Love is unspoken Roll on the day Blinded with light Dissipating gloominess behind

Dissipating gloominess behind And in the midst of all these crises Always a solace can be found

In just the greeting of a stranger Echoes of our tribes are still around Our tribes are still around Roll on the day Blinded with light Dissipating gloominess

Dissipating gloominess behind

Thank you very much.

Meet On The Ledge

We'd all be writing songs

We're gonna meet on the ledge We're gonna meet on the ledge

Thanks ever so much for joining me.

Valentines Day.

Peace, love and understanding.

All around the world.

Ceasefire everywhere.

If you really want it.

War is over.

If you want it.

And I don't know when the next live stream will be but I'll do one from time to time.

Gigs

People of Brighstone, I'm coming to you on May 4th.

People of Yarmouth, I'm coming to you March 10th.

And there'll be a few other little things here and there, but the main thing I'm working on at the moment is the one-man show.

Doing all the long-form writing and then converting it to play script.

I had a fantastic weekend at Quay Arts doing theatre workshops with some really Yn ystod y cyfnod, fe wnaeth i fynd i fynd i fynd i fynd i fynd i fynd i fynd i fynd. Rhywbeth sylfaenol oedd gwneud un man show, oherwydd pwy ydw i'n meddwl ydw i?

Dydw i ddim wedi gwneud un man show, dydw i ddim wedi gwneud un man show, dydw i ddim wedi gwneud un man show, dydw i ddim wedi gwneud un man

That's what I'm like.

Who thought at age 15 and three quarters he could just hitchhike to Europe?

I've heard stories you can hitchhike around Europe and people are nice, they look after you, you know, they give you food.

It'll be great.

What could possibly go wrong?

I've got a little rucksack, I've got a 12 string guitar and I've got a little tent.

And off he went.

Anyway, I'll stop babbling now and go and eat my dinner.

0 Comments
Andy Roberts Music, News and Writings
Sounds
Podcast episodes, live concert replays and song videos.